June 12, 2024

Register of Deeds

PO Box 256
212 1st Ave E
McIntosh, SD 57641
Phone: 605-273-4395
Fax: 605-273-4233

Email: [email protected]

Register of Deeds: Marcia Schell
Deputy Register of Deeds: Kimberly Olson

Office Hours:

Monday – Friday 8:00am – 5:00pm (closed noon-1pm mountain time)

 

The county register of deeds office can most appropriately be thought of as a library of local records. This office is a storage facility for a host of local documents. From land title transfers to birth, marriage, and death records, this office has a wealth of information about the local population. Although these are only a few of the documents recorded in this office, they remain some of the most widely requested by the general public.  Learn more at Register of Deeds | South Dakota Department of Revenue (sd.gov)

Our records are not online but please call our office and we will be glad to help you.

 

E-Filing
Corson County Procedures For Erecording
Document Standards

CSC eRecording Solutions
Email address – [email protected]
Phone Number – 866-652-0111
Website – http://www.erecording.com/

Simplifile
Phone Number – 800-460-5657
Website – http://www.simplifile.com

 

Vital Records

South Dakota birth, death, marriage, and divorce records may be requested in person, through the mail, online, or over the phone.  A $15 search fee is applicable for all certificates requested.  Certified records may be issued to the registrant, the registrant’s spouse, children, parents, guardian, next of kin, or authorized representative. Proof of relationship may be required at the time of request.

Before applying for a record, please note:

  • Copies of records cannot be faxed or e-mailed.
  • The fee is required prior to any search.
  • If no record is located, the fee is non-refundable, and you will be issued a Notification of Records Searched.
  • Genealogy requests should be mailed to the State Office. No online or over-the-phone orders.
  • Tribal marriage and divorce can only be obtained directly from the tribe.
  • Divorce certificates can only be obtained from the State Office.
  • Divorce decrees can only be requested from the Clerk of Courts in the county where the divorce was filed.

Birth and Death Records are from 1905 to present. Births are all on statewide computer which means that you can get a birth record from any courthouse in the State of SD. Deaths are statewide from 1960 to present. Marriages are statewide from 1970 to present.

 

Cost to Purchase Vital Records
The cost to purchase certified legal copies of the above vital records are $15 for each copy.

For your convenience, you can process phone or online requests through an independent company that we have partnered with to provide you with this service; VitalChek Network, Inc.

VitalChek is the only third-party vendor authorized by the South Dakota Department of Health to accept orders for South Dakota vital records.

Place your order by visiting www.vitalchek.com or by calling 605-773-4961

Certified Copies Application Form

 

Land Records
Corson County land records are from 1864 to present.

 

Recordings
We record all documents that pertain to real estate such as PLATS, DEEDS, MORTGAGES, BILL OF SALES and all other documents authorized by law to record. 

The Certificate of Real Estate Value (PT 56) form must be filed with any deed or contract for deed. This would include actual “deeds” such as warranty deed, quit claim deed, grantor’s deed, sheriff’s deed, trustee’s deed, executor’s deed, administrator’s deed, mineral deed and similar deeds. Contract for deed would also encompass a memorandum of a contract for deed, and addenda to contracts for deed, and notice of contract for deed. A statute exception to the form being filed is for the State of South Dakota conveying highway right-of-way SDCL 7-9-7.3. Documents that do NOT need to be accompanied with a certificate of real estate value are Divorce Decree, Probate Decree, or Easements.

 

Cost to Record
The fee to record all documents is $30 for the first 50 pages, and $2.00 for each additional page.

 

Document Standards
There must be a 3-inch margin at the top of the 1st page of recording. All remaining sides of all pages need a 1-inch margin. The prepared by info needs to be in the upper left side of the 3-inch margin. White paper needs to be used. No type less than 10 point.

 

Cost for Copies
To purchase a copy of any recorded document the fee is $1.00 per page.  Copies of Maps or computer print offs are also $1.00 per page.  To have documents faxed the fee is $5.00 plus $1.00 per page. E-mail documents charges are $5.00 plus $1.00 per page.

 

Certified Copies
Cost is $5.00 for the first page and $1.00 for each additional page.

 

UCC’S & FICTITIOUS Names
These can be filed in our local office or at the Secretary of States office in Pierre, SD. The cost for a Fictitious Firm Name is $10. The cost for UCC’s is $25 plus $3 each debtor name and $5 for any attachments. Also, a UCC search is $20.

Other Filings
We also file:

  1. State and Federal Tax Liens and Releases
  2. Mechanics Liens
  3. Military Discharges
  4. County Indigent Liens
  5. Sheriff’s Levys
  6. Burials
  7. Farm Leases
  8. Corner Records

SD Secretary of State’s Website